Yobe Desert Stars F.C. is a Nigerian Professional Football League club based in the city of Damaturu. The Club is owned and finance by the Yobe State Government. The club has a management committee which oversees the Welfare, Technical and Administrative functions.
FULL NAME        :               Yobe Desert Stars Football Club
NICK NAME        :               Desert Stars
Founded              :               1991
Owner                  :               Yobe State
Ground                :               Damaturu
Capacity              :              
League                 :               Nigerian Professional Football League
GM                        :               Dr. Habu Abdulrahman Ago
HEAD COACH    :               Ngozi Elechi
CHIEF COACH    :               Taye Hassan
Assistant Coach I              :               Ibrahim Mohammed Sani (Magician)
Goalkeeper Trainer         :               Mohammed Aminu Yahaya
Secretary                             :               Mustapha Moda
Media                                    :               Jibo Zakari
Camp Commandant          :               Comrade Ahmed Babi
There are five stadium located in the state, at Gashua, Potiskum, Nguru, Geidam and Damaturu. Only August 27 Stadium belongs to the state Government. The other three belongs to the local government where they are located.
The August 27 stadium was handed over to the sports council in 1999. The following facilities are handy in the stadium.
  • One football pitch
  • Tartan Track
  • Handball court
  • Volleyball court
  • Astro Turf Hockey pitch (water base)
  • Basketball court
  • VIP lounge
  • Borehole
  • Seating segments for Handball and football courts
  • Conference Hall
Yobe State Sports Council is one of the Yobe State Government Agencies responsible for increasing participation and improving performance in sports…
The Yobe Sports Council was established by an edict in 1992. Going by the edict, the Sports Council is a corporate body, yet a parastatal under the ministry of Sports.
The Council is headed by the Director of Sports(DR. HABU ABDULRAHMAN AGO (FIFA rtd) who is assisted by five Deputy Directors manning five Departments namely:-
  1. Deputy Technical
  2. Deputy Sports Development
  3. Deputy Organism 
  4. Administration
  5. Finance Department  
In addition, Zonal Sports Offices were created in 1994 in our bid to take sports to the grassroots. The zonal offices were located at Damaturu, Gashua, Nguru and Potiskum.
The Sports Council is an organization charged with the responsibility developing and promoting sports in the State.
It is the duty of the Sports Council to encourage and assist mass participation in amateur sports.
To organize competitions at local and National levels
To improve the standard of performance in all form of sports.
To create an environment for every person to excel in sports irrespective of age, sex, ethnic group or religion.
To advise Government on the provision of sports facilities and equipment which are paramount for sports development?
To provide recreation and fitness programmed to members of the public
To scout and groom players for competition
To promote traditional (indigenous) sports
To maintain and manage sports facilities
To supervise and control the activities
To train Coaches, or organizing Secretaries, Planning and Research and Statistics, as well as Athletes.